todayitryto: do a quick review on the Trinity Audio Atlas

tldr: the most fun I had with an IEM and I bring it with me daily.

Trinity Audio is based in the UK and from the introduction in the Head-Fi thread, “The underlying vision and philosophy behind Trinity is that high quality audio should be affordable to everyone – and without compromising on build or materials.”  Also as far as I see whenever Trinity Audio is mentioned is that they have great customer service, though I never tried it because I haven’t encountered any problems with the Atlas despite the number of times I’ve dropped it or just tossed it into my backpack. Now I’m not really up to date with their newer products (I’m saving my money for Master 6 and I don’t want to be tempted) but I think they’re living up to their vision quite well.

Sound (I’m using gold filters)

With the gold filters they’re very V-shaped but the mids actually stay pretty neutral. Of course they’re not the priority in the presentation of things but it sounds pretty good and I think that’s what make this headphone so fun to listen to, besides the fact it has multiple filters which means you could, if you wanted to, have a different listening experience whenever you want. They’re also very easy to drive and I don’t really see an improvement when amplifying them.

Bass: Very well extended and delivers punches easily. Picks up quite a bit of detail. It’s fast and impacts well. I like how it’s controlled despite sometimes being a little boomy (I actually like the bit of boominess, purple/gunmetal filters fix this though so don’t worry). Basically I just really like how the bass sounds. Also drums sounds amazing with this headphone, like it’s really trying to push a lot of air into my ear.

Mids: Sounds neutral to me! Would I listen to classical with it? Nope! But could I do it? Hell yes! In fact its quite nice since the upper-mids are actually really good. But that’s usually because I have this urge to have fun whenever I put these in my ear. It does guitar pretty well and it does violins and pianos justice too. I like how female vocals (Female opera man, damn) are presented too. The surprising amount of detail retrieval, the really good imaging and soundstage really helps here too.

Treble: Very well extended but still not sibilant! It’s treble is what helps stringed instruments shine and it still has a decent amount of airy-ness and sparkle. But when the music has edges then you will feel it. Which reveals another one of Atlas’ surprising characteristics, it’s transparency. But it’s not as refined as something you would expect from higher end IEMs.

Details: I can’t say this enough but I never expected it to pump out this much detail. Although, compared to a TOTL headphone this won’t stand a chance but if you didn’t compare it, then you’d actually be pretty happy with this headphone’s ability. I would have called it my end-game if I hadn’t listened to insane multi-driver IEMs or just more expensive headphones in general.

Soundstage/Imaging: Imaging is really well done with instruments placed where you’d think they’d be. Separation is also great as you can easily pick out instruments whilst still having them sound like they’re meant to be played together. The soundstage is above average, with good width and height. Combined with the imaging, it makes it as if you are playing with the band. You can hear instruments beside you, in front of you, and behind you but it still keeps the “in your head” presentation that IEMs have.

Build/Packaging: I won’t go into detail since I think there’s enough documentation online. But hey it’s all metal! And the filters are metal too! Wooo! The Atlas was marketed as a sports headphone so it has some splash proofing but there’s no way I’m testing that as I love my pair too much. It uses a MMCX connector, which is known for wearing out with plugging and unplugging so I won’t be unplugging these cables anytime soon. The box it came with was pretty nice and was packed with a bunch of accessories, like a bunch of tips (from average tips to double flange to a pair of foams), an extra cable, a neat case, a bunch of filters, and a right angled jack that’s also made of metal! Wooo!

I bring the Atlas with me daily because I know it won’t disappoint me, that is until I try some TOTL IEM that will make me regret getting into this hobby. The Atlas also has a special place with me because to me, it’s when I learned that I love/hate this hobby! The hobby of tempting me to drain my wallet! Since I bought it I would always be on the look out for its upgrade, but whenever I listen to the Atlas again I would always say “Ah, maybe I’ll upgrade later when I have more money or when its on sale” or make up some excuse because I would realize I’m actually totally happy with the Atlas and don’t need to spend $1K USD just to hear the drummer breathing or have some noise sound like it’s coming from some direction I didn’t know was possible, and I’d be having fun the whole time. I actually have bought something better than the Atlas though (Campfred earbud by Cypherus Audio) but it’s an earbud so I can’t really compare them or even call it an upgrade even though it’s my endgame for the earbud side of things. The Atlas will be staying with me for a while or else I’ll go bankrupt.

Leave a Reply

